Skip to main content

Configuring installed plugins


Configuring plugins

Once you’ve installed a plugin, you can configure it.

For more information on whether or not a plugin needs to be configured and which settings are necessary, see the description of the plugin on plentyMarketplace.

This page contains information on plugin configuration in general. This includes the difference between local and global settings as well as exporting and importing local configurations. It also explains container links. Using container links, you can position elements provided by a plugin in your online store. This includes logos of payment providers and shipping service providers, amongst others.

1. Local vs. global configuration

Plugins can be configured either on a local or a global level.

You can set local configurations in the detail view of the plugin. When you configure a plugin locally, the configuration only applies to a single plugin set. This means that if the plugin is installed in two or more plugin sets, you have to configure it in each set separately. When the plugin gets deleted, the configuration is deleted, too.

Global configurations are carried out in the Setup menu. When you configure a plugin globally, the configuration applies to all plugin sets the plugin is installed in.

Exceptions

For plugins developed before the introduction of plugin sets, configuration may be different. Deviations are noted in the guide of the respective plugin on plentyMarketplace.

2. Exporting and importing local configurations

You can export and import local configurations of a plugin. By exporting and importing configurations, you can easily transfer from one plugin set to another. Proceed as follows:

Exporting plugin configurations:

  1. Go to Plugins » Plugin overview.

  2. Open the plugin detail view of the plugin whose configuration you want to export by clicking on that plugin’s name.

  3. Click on the Configuration export/import button.

  4. Click on Export configuration ().
    → A JSON file containing the configuration is downloaded.

Importing plugin configurations:

  1. Go to Plugins » Plugin overview.

  2. Open the plugin detail view of the plugin whose configuration you want to import by clicking on that plugin’s name.

  3. Click on the Configuration export/import button.

  4. Click on the Select file button () and select the file you want to import.

  5. Click on Import configuration ().
    → The configuration is imported.

Limitations

A valid JSON file is required for import.

If the plugin version differs between export and import or configurations are renamed on code level, it is possible that not all options are imported.

Batch transferring plugin configurations

You can transfer the configurations of all plugins in a plugin set at once. To export or import all configurations, in the Plugins » Plugin overview menu, open the Plugin set settings. Afterwards, proceed the same way as when exporting and importing individual configurations.

You can also batch export and import configurations when the plugins in a plugin set differ from the ones listed in the configuration export, or if they’re installed in a different version. If any settings don’t exist because of this, they’re skipped.

Using container links, you can position elements provided by a plugin in your online store. This includes logos of payment providers and shipping service providers, amongst others. You can find all container links in the CMS » Container links menu. To see which containers to link, check the instructions of the respective plugin.

Some plugins come with predefined container links. These are so-called standard container links. To select standard container links, proceed as follows:

Selecting default container links:

  1. Go to Plugins » Plugin overview.

  2. Open the detail view of the plugin by clicking on its name.

  3. Click on the Default container links button.

  4. Select the links you want to add.

  5. Save () the settings.

Does not overwrite existing links

Saving the default container links does not overwrite existing links. If you want to use only the default container links, you first have to delete all links of the plugin in the CMS » Container links menu.


To top