Skip to main content

Messenger

Use the messenger to create notes about your contacts in the back end. These notes are only visible in your plentymarkets back end and cannot be accessed by your contacts.

On this page of the manual, you learn how to create new messages for your contact, display all notes that are available for your contact as well as edit and delete existing messages.

1. Preparatory settings

If users of the type Back end should be able to work with the messenger, you as a person with Admin access have to assign rights to those users. Moreover, you have to create tags in order that these are available for the messenger.

1.1. Assigning rights for back end users

Users of the type Back end can only access limited areas and menus in the plentymarkets back end. Thus, their access to the system is limited. If users of this type should be able to see and create messages in the messenger, a user of the type Admin has to assign at least the rights listed in Table 1 to users of the type Back end.

Assigning rights for back end users:

  1. Go to Setup » Settings » User » Rights » User.

  2. Use the search function () and open the account that should be edited.

  3. In the Authorisations area, activate the rights as listed in Table 1.

  4. Save () the settings.

Table 1. Assigning rights for the messenger
Setting Explanation

CRM > Message > Show

Authorises back end users to see messages.

CRM > Message > Create

Authorises back end users to create messages.

Comments > Show

Authorises back end users to see comments.

Comments > Create

Authorises back end users to create comments.

Setup > Property > Show

Authorises back end users to see properties.

Setup > Property > Create

Authorises back end users to create properties.

Setup > Tag > Show

Authorises back end users to see tags.

Setup > Tag > Create

Authorises back end users to create tags.

1.2. Creating tags for the messenger

Go to Setup » Settings » Tags and create tags for the availability Messages so that they are available for the messenger.

If you want to create messages that should be billed, you have to create tags for the availability Message (billable) in the same way. You have to add these tags to the message.

For further information, refer to the Tags page of the manual.

2. Creating a message

You can save as many messages for your contacts as you like.

Creating a message:

  1. Go to CRM » Contacts.

  2. Search () the contact by means of the filter settings as described in the Searching for a contact chapter.
    → The contacts that correspond to the search criteria entered are displayed.

  3. Open the context menu with a right click in the line of the contact and select Messenger.
    Or: Click in the line of the contact and in the contact data record on the left side on Messenger.
    → The Messenger area opens.

  4. Click on New message ().

  5. Create the message. Pay attention to Figure 1 and Table 2.

  6. Click on Send ().
    → The message is created.

Creating a new message in the messenger
Figure 1. New message in the messenger
Table 2. Creating a new message in the messenger
Setting Explanation

Recipient

Select a recipient from the drop-down list or enter the first 3 letters of the recipient’s name to have some suggestions displayed.
By default, ALL recipients as well as the own user are selected.

Stop watch

The stop watch starts counting as soon as the Messenger area opens.
Click on to stop the stop watch or on to start the watch again. Click on to reset the stop watch to 0.

Title

Enter the title of the message. This is a mandatory input.

Tags

Select tags from the drop-down list or enter the first 3 letters of the tag’s name to have some suggestions displayed.

Whisper

If Whisper ( ) is activated, only those employees who have rights for the messenger can read the message. Your contacts are not able to see the message.
Note: If Whisper is activated, the field Minutes and the button billable are deactivated.

Message

Enter the text, insert text via the clipboard and format the text using the functions in the toolbar. This is a mandatory input.

Attach files

Click on to upload as many file attachments to the message as you like.
The following file types can be sent as an attachment:
bmp, csv, gif, jpeg, json, pdf, png, tiff, txt, zip.

Minutes

Enter minutes in the field that you want to save for a certain task or unit. You can also bill these minutes later.
If you want to bill the minutes entered here, you have to select a tag of the type Message (billable) and activate the button .

billable

Activate the button billable ( ) to bill the minutes that you entered in the Minutes field.
Important: If you have activated the button, it is necessary to save a tag of the type Message (billable) at the message. These tags have to be created in advance in the Setup » Settings » Tags menu. Otherwise, the message cannot be created.

Send

Click on to create the message.

3. Displaying messages

From the open contact, you can display all messages in the messenger that are saved for the contact.

Displaying messages:

  1. Go to CRM » Contacts.

  2. Search () the contact by means of the filter settings as described in the Searching for a contact chapter.
    → The contacts that correspond to the search criteria entered are displayed.

  3. Open the context menu with a right click in the line of the contact and select Messenger.
    Or: Click in the line of the contact and in the contact data record on the left side on Messenger.
    → All messages that are saved for the contact are displayed.

You can display individual messages by clicking on the message itself. Use the sorting function to sort the messages by date in ascending or descending order.

4. Editing a message

You can edit messages at any time. To do so, proceed as described below.

Editing a message:

  1. Go to CRM » Contacts.

  2. Search () the contact by means of the filter settings as described in the Searching for a contact chapter.
    → The contacts that correspond to the search criteria entered are displayed.

  3. Open the context menu with a right click in the line of the contact and select Messenger.
    Or: Click in the line of the contact and in the contact data record on the left side on Messenger.
    → The Messenger area opens and the saved messages are displayed.

  4. Click on the message that you want to edit.

  5. Carry out the desired changes. Pay attention to Figure 2 and Table 2.

Editing a message in the messenger
Figure 2. Example: Editing a message
Table 3. Editing a message
Setting Explanation

Message not completed

Click on next to the contact ID () to close the message.
In the message overview, the message is displayed with a . This tells other employees that this message has already been completed.
Click on to open the message again.

Contact ID

Click on + contact ID to open the detail view of the contact.

Change visibility

Click on to change the visibilities. You can remove recipients and add new recipients.
Important: When you change the visibilities, this always affects the entire message stream. This means that when removing an employee, they have no access to the messages any longer. If you add an employee, they can see all messages in the message stream.

Reply

Click on to reply to the message.

Delete

Click on to delete the entire message stream.
Important: Upon deletion, the main message and all related messages are deleted.

Edit tags

Click on Edit tags () directly in the message to delete existing tags or add new tags.
Click on Save tags () to save the changes.

5. Deleting a message

Click on in the open message to delete the entire message stream.
Important: The main message and all related messages are deleted.

Before you delete the message stream irretrievably, a window is shown where you have to confirm that you want to delete the message.

To top