Skip to main content

System relocation

Use the menu plentymarkets Logo (Start) » Relocation to relocate your system to a different cloud free of charge. The Relocation menu also lists the status of any planned relocation projects and information about any previous relocation projects. Refer to our website for further information about the cloud solutions provided by plentymarkets.

1. System relocation requirements

Make sure that the following requirements are met before you begin planning to relocate your system to a different cloud:

  • You must have a current plentymarkets cloud contract. If you do not have a plentymarkets Cloud contract, then change your contract information.

  • The system relocation must be scheduled to begin at least 2 days in the future.

Files on FTP server are not migrated

When your system is relocated to a different cloud, the FTP host address of the plentymarkets system also changes. The files stored on the old FTP host are not copied to the new FTP host address during relocation. You need to move the FTP files manually.

Change the IP address with your external domain provider

When you relocate your system, your IP address changes. If your domain is hosted by an external provider, then you will need to save the new IP address with your external domain provider. This ensures that your online store remains accessible. plentymarkets does not have access to the data of your external domain and cannot make these changes for you. Check your domain provider’s documentation for information about saving your new IP address there.

2. Planning a relocation

Proceed as described below to plan the relocation of your system to a different cloud. Please note that it is not possible to simultaneously relocate more than one system per cloud. As such, the relocation start time may be delayed.

Planning a relocation:

  1. Go to plentymarkets Logo (Start) » Relocation.
    Tip: To do so, point your cursor at the plentymarkets logo at the top left of the screen.

  2. Click on the Relocation tab.

  3. Select the target cloud, i.e. the cloud where you want to relocate your system to.
    → The costs for the target cloud are shown.

  4. Select the date when the system relocation should begin.

  5. Select the time when the system relocation should begin.
    Note: The system relocation must be scheduled to begin at least 2 days in the future.

  6. Click on Start relocation to request the relocation.
    → The planned relocation is shown in the Planned relocation tab and starts at the specified time.
    Note: It is not possible to simultaneously relocate more than one system per cloud. As such, the relocation start time may be delayed.

Store availability

For mid-sized systems, relocation takes approximately 20 minutes. However, the actual duration always depends on the volume of data that is to be relocated. Your plentymarkets system is available during this time. However, you cannot save any changes in the system. Your store’s order process is also deactivated while your system is being relocated. Therefore, choose a time when you do not anticipate a large amount of traffic. We recommend that you plan the relocation for the middle of the night.

3. Cancelling a planned relocation

You can cancel a planned relocation any time before the processes in the menu plentymarkets Logo (Start) » Relocation » Tab: Planned relocation have been completed. The relocation will be cancelled as soon as possible. It may not be possible to cancel the relocation immediately. Proceed as described below to cancel a planned relocation.

Cancelling a relocation:

  1. Go to plentymarkets Logo (Start) » Relocation.
    Tip: To do so, point your cursor at the plentymarkets logo at the top left of the screen.

  2. Click on the Planned relocation tab.

  3. Click on Cancel relocation.
    → The relocation will be cancelled as soon as possible. Processes that were already completed will be relocated back to the source cloud.

If all of the processes have already been completed, i.e. if the system has been completely relocated, then you will need to request a new relocation to move your system back to the previous cloud.

To top