Skip to main content

Carrying out data cleansing

This page of the manual describes how to delete certain data records after a certain time period has expired. You determine this time period in the System » Settings » Data » Cleansing menu.

1. Setting the visibility of the menu for variable users

In order that the System » Settings » Data » Cleansing menu is visible for users with the user class Variable, the menu must be activated in the user account.

In addition, rights in the REST API menu must be activated.

Setting the visibility of the menu for variable users:

  1. Go to System » Settings » User » Accounts.

  2. Open the user with the user class Variable for whom you would like to activate the visibility of the menu.

  3. Open the Right tab.

  4. Click on the Menu tab.

  5. Expand the section Settings » Basic settings » Data.

  6. Activate the option Cleansing.

  7. Open the REST API tab.

  8. Expand the section Data cleansing.

  9. Activate the option Show configuration and Save configuration.

  10. Save the settings.

2. Entering deletion values

In order that data records are deleted in your plentymarkets system after a certain time period has expired, you must enter values for this time period. To do so, proceed as follows.

Further functions will be added to this menu step by step

Currently, you can automatically delete unassigned addresses, unused contacts, orders, the change history as well as IP addresses in the order. Step by step, further areas will be added to this menu.

Entering deletion values:

  1. Go to System » Settings » Data » Cleansing.

  2. Enter a value in the input field. Pay attention to the information given in Table 1.

  3. Activate the toggle button.

  4. Save the settings.

Table 1. Settings in the System » Settings » Data » Cleanup
Setting Explanation

Deletion of unused addresses (after days)

Enter the number in days. After this time period has expired, unused addresses are automatically deleted from your plentymarkets system. An unused address is an address without any relations to a contact, an order, a POS and a warehouse.

Deletion of unused contacts (after days)

Enter the number in days. After this time period has expired, unused contacts are automatically deleted from your plentymarkets system. An unused contact is a contact without incoming items, orders and tickets.

Deletion of orders (after days)

Enter the number in days. After this time period has expired, orders are automatically deleted from your plentymarkets system. Orders and documents generated to the order are also deleted. Minimum value: 60 days.

Deletion of Change History (after days)

Enter the number in days. After this time period has expired, the change history entries are automatically deleted from your plentymarkets system. The Change History logs changes made in the plentymarkets system. Maximum value: 365 days.

Deletion of IP addresses in the order (after days)

Enter the number in days. After this time period has expired, the IP address in an order is automatically deleted from your plentymarkets system.

Toggle button

Data is only deleted if the toggle button was activated and the settings saved.
If you do not want to delete the data automatically after the value entered for days, deactivate the toggle button and save this setting again.
Exception: The deletion of the change history is still executed even with deactivated toggle button. The maximum value of 365 days is used.

Number of data records to be deleted

Currently, up to 5,000 data records can be deleted per day. plentymarkets will monitor this behaviour and adjust this to a higher value, if necessary.

3. Automatically deleting tickets

Delete tickets automatically from your ticket system. This setting is not carried out in the System » Settings » Data » Cleansing menu, but via the procedure manager in the ticket system in the System » CRM » Ticket system » Procedures menu.

Further information about the ticket system as well as an example scenario can be found on the Using the ticket system page of the manual.

4. Viewing the log

All changes that have been made in the System » Settings » Data » Cleansing menu are logged in the Data » Log menu for a period of 4 weeks: The date and time, the user as well as the old and new values are logged.

For further information about the log, refer to the Data log page of the manual.

To top